• e-visa india logo

Who is eligible to take Indian E-visa?

India welcomes its guests with an open arm that’s why foreign visitors from all over the world consider it an ideal place to visit and are always keen to know their eligibility for Indian e-visa.

There was a time when one was required to visit the Indian Consulate in their own country to get an Indian visa, and it used to take a tremendous amount of time in the India visa process.

But now those tedious experiences are a bygone era, as the Indian government launched Indian e-visa to allow foreigners to visit India for medical, tourism/leisure or business reasons.

Two more categories have also been added to the evisa India category: e-Medical Attendant Visa and e-Conference Visa. At most, two e-Medical visas can be granted on the basis of one e-Medical visa.

e-Conference visa is only allowed to be clubbed with e-Tourist Visa.

You can apply for an e-visa India online, and if approved, your evisa India (an electronic form of the visa) will be sent to your email address, and the original visa will be stamped on your passport on arrival in the country.

But, before applying for an evisa India, you must know who is eligible to take Indian e-visa. It is because the country always takes its reputation, people and foreign visitors’ safety into account before allowing any foreigner to come to India. So, let’s know Indian E-visa eligibility in detail.

Who is eligible for Indian e-visa?

If you hold a passport of any of the countries given below in the alphabetical order, then you are eligible for an Indian e-visa:

1. Albania, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria and Azerbaijan

2. Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia an Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria and Burundi

3. Cambodia, Cameroon Union Republic, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Island, Chile and China

4. Hong Kong, Macau, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d'lvoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus and Czech Republic

5. Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica and Dominican Republic

6. East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador, Eritrea and Estonia

7. Fiji, Finland and France

8. Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea and Guyana

9. Haiti, Honduras and Hungary

10. Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel and Italy

11. Jamaica, Japan and Jordan

12. Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati and Kyrgyzstan

13. Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania and Luxembourg

14. Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Mozambique and Myanmar

15. Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger Republic, Niue Island and Norway

16. Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland and Portugal

17. Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Romania, Russia and Rwanda

18. Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden and Switzerland

19. Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Island and Tuvalu

20. UAE, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA and Uzbekistan

21. Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

To be kept in mind: if your parents or grandparents have their birth in Pakistan and lived there, then you are not eligible for an Indian e-visa in spite of being a citizen of the countries given above. You have to apply for a regular India visa.

Apart from that, the following are conditions to be eligible for an Indian e-visa:

1. As mentioned above, if you want to visit India to meet friends or relatives, take medical services, for business and tourism purposes.

2. You need to have a six-month valid passport from the date of your visa application.

3. your passport must have two blank pages so that the immigration officials can use the pages to place the entry and exit stamps.

4. You need to have return tickets to get back to your own country after staying in India for an allowed time.

5. If you are accompanied by your children or infants, then they need to have separate e-visas and passports.

6. If you are a citizen of yellow fever affected countries, then you need to have a vaccination card. If you don’t, then you can be kept in quarantine for up to 6 days after your arrival in the country.

7. If you are holding International Travel Document or a Diplomatic passport, then you are not eligible for an Indian e-visa.



Add a Comment

Popular Post

5 Temples to Visit in Jammu ...

posted on Jul-01-2020